Apprenticeships are programmes of learning alongside employment. You learn the skills and knowledge required for your job, at an appropriate level, whilst earning a wage.

Apprenticeships are fully funded government programmes which consist of 4 elements to be completed to earn your certificate:

  • Health and Social Care Diploma
  • Technical Certificate (knowledge only) "Preparing to work in Adult Social Care"
  • Functional Skills Maths and English
  • Employment Rights and Responsibilities


Anyone can apply, as no prior learning or qualifications are required. All we ask is that you do not hold a degree.


Diplomas are qualifications you can gain whilst working in health and social care services. You will develop knowledge in core subjects and gain the skills to show competence in your role.

Diplomas are made up of credits and provide generic routes together with specialist routes for those working with individuals who have learning disabilities services or those working with people wthin dementia care.

Diplomas can be achieved at

Level 2 (46 credits)- for support workers, care assistants, homecare workers, personal assistants

Level 3 (58 credits)-for senior support workers, deputy managers, care co-ordinators

Level 4 (80 credits) - for deputy managers, senior care co-ordinators, re-enablement workers

Level 5 (90 credits)-  for registered managers working in residential services, day care services, support living schemes or senior practitioners, proprietor, or those working towards a managerial position


Information, advice and guidance (IAG). Each learner will be supported to complete an individual diagnostic assessment to ensure they are matched to the most appropriate qualification.  In addition, the assessment centre will have discussions with the learners employer to ensure the qualification and level is appropriate to their current job role.

Management/Team Leading

Awards and Certificates in Management

These small stand-alone qualifications are ideal for people wanting to progress into more senior positions. They are knowledge only qualifications so can be completed outside of the workplace. Each learner has an allocated assessor who will support them through professional discussions, written work and presentations.

Pearson BTEC Level 3 Award in Principles of Managament (QCF)

Pearson BTEC Level 3 Certificate in Principles of Management (QCF)

Awards and Certificates in Team Leading

Pearson BTEC Level 2 Award in Principles of Team Leading (QCF)

Pearson BTEC Level 2 Certificate in Principles of Team Leading (QCF) 



Training Assessment Quality Assurance

TAQA qualifications

A range of Awards and Certificates at level 3 and 4 for people wishing to become assessors or quality assurers/moderators. The TAQA uses a combination of units which make up either an Award (3-6 credits) or a Certificate (15 credits), to enable people to choose those units which best reflect their role in assessing and verifying vocational qualifications. The qualification is accredited and certificated with Pearson awarding organisation.

What is the programme about?

There is a combination of Awards and Certificates that can be chosen but for most of these the learner must be actively assessing practice and knowledge.  

The assessor- learner will need to work with learners who are undertaking a Health and Social Care Diploma or Apprenticeship at either level 2 or level 3. The quality assurer-learner will need to work with assessors who are currently assessing learners on the programmes above.

The qualifications usually take between 12 and 18 months to complete.



Advance Care Training offer a range of awards and certificates for people wanting to further their knowledge and understanding in specialist subjects.

All our awards and certificates are QCF qualifications, each having a required number of credits to achieve in order to complete the qualification.

Subjects include:

NCFE Level 2 Certificate in Understanding the Safe Handling of Medicines

Pearson BTEC Level 2 or level 3 Award in supporting individuals with Learning Disabilities

Pearson BTEC Level 2 or level 3 Certificate in supporting individuals with Learning Disabilities

Edexcel BTEC Level 2 or 3 Award in Awareness of Dementia

Edexcel BTEC Level 2 or Level 3 Certificate in Dementia Care

Course requirements

Each qualification will be evidenced by completing assignments; workbooks; written questions, and professional discussions and observations, which will be internally assessed and internally moderated/quality assured.

The learner will be expected to attend 1:1 sessions with their allocated assessor.

All learners undertaking the above qualifications will be expected to undertake additional reading and research in their own time.

Prices for each qualification will vary, depending on their credit value.